Tuesday, 12 May 2015

Abu Hanifah Allows for Intoxicating Drinks!

All intoxicants and hard drinks are absolutely forbidden in Islam. The Qur'an has referred to Khamr (intoxicants) as the abomination of Satan (5:90).

The Prophet Muhammad (Sallallahu alaihi wasallam) has clarified for us that Khamr is not simply wine, but every intoxicating substance is named Khamr:

كُلُّ مُسْكِرٍ خَمْرٌ ، وَكُلُّ مُسْكِرٍ حَرَامٌ ، وَمَنْ شَرِبَ الْخَمْرَ فِي الدُّنْيَا ، فَمَاتَ 

وَهُوَ يُدْمِنُهَا لَمْ يَتُبْ لَمْ يَشْرَبْهَا فِي الْآخِرَةِ

Translation: “Every intoxicant is a Khamr, and every intoxicant is forbidden. Whoever drank Khamr in this world, then died without having repented, shall not drink it (a celestial drink) in the Hereafter.” (Sahih Muslim: Kitab ul Ashribah)

Furthermore, the Prophet (Sallallahu alaihi wasallam) stated:

كُلُّ مُسْكِرٍ حَرَامٌ وَمَا أَسْكَرَ كَثِيرُه ، فَقَلِيلُهُ حَرَامٌ

Translation: “Every intoxicant is forbidden, and that which intoxicated in large amounts is forbidden in small amounts also.” (Sunan Ibn Majah; Kitab ul Ashribah)

But now look at the verdict of the so called “Imam al-Azam”, Abu Hanifah, whom the Hanafis believe declared certain types of intoxicating drinks to be lawful:

أَنَّ مَا يُتَّخَذُ مِنْ الْحِنْطَةِ وَالشَّعِيرِ وَالْعَسَلِ وَالذُّرَةِ حَلَالٌ عِنْدَ أَبِي حَنِيفَةَ، وَلَا يُحَدُّ 

شَارِبُهُ عِنْدَهُ وَإِنْ سَكِرَ مِنْهُ  

Translation: (The hard drink) made from wheat, barley, honey, and corn is Halal (allowed) according to Abu Hanifah, and there is no Hadd (penalty) for drinking it according to him even if it intoxicates.

Source: Hidayah, Part 7, Page 293

No comments:

Post a Comment

Taliban, Huthis and Near Future Emergence of the Mahdi

  بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم الصلاة والسلام على سيد المرسلين وعلى اهل بيته الطيبين الطاهرين The changes to the geopolitical chessboard is acc...